Best Muse by Meta alternatives in 2026
Muse is Meta's personal AI agent at muse.ai: you give it a goal, it keeps working in the background across the apps you connect, and it stops for your approval before anything is published, sent or paid for. On 29 September 2026 Meta added Muse for Small Business — connectors for Shopify, Stripe, Intuit QuickBooks, Klaviyo, Canva, HighLevel, Slack and others, plus Facebook, Instagram and Meta ads in one step. Read on Meta's own pages on 6 October 2026: Muse is free with a usage limit, paid plans are Power at $20/month and Maximum at $100/month, and it is available only to people 18 and over in the US and Canada.
This page is about Meta's Muse agent — not the Muse Image model, and not other products called Muse. People looking past it usually want one of four things: an always-on agent they can use outside the US and Canada or outside Meta's apps; one built around the phone calls and local listings a shop runs on; a calmer assistant for inbox and calendar; or — a narrower job — a team that grows the business, with a website, search and social. If you are in the US or Canada and the free plan covers you, try Muse first; it costs nothing to find out. AgentCeres is the pick only for that last job: marketing, growth and a hosted website, from $39 a month.
Free to start · No credit card required
The shortlist
ChatGPT dots
Top pickOpenAI's always-on agents inside ChatGPT: each dot has its own cloud computer and browser, connects to over 4,000 apps through plugins, and can be messaged in ChatGPT, Slack or Teams.
Pros- The closest like-for-like: the same goal-driven, background-working agent, from the company most people already use for AI
- Custom Rules let you allow, require approval for, or block specific actions, and background "proactive research" is restricted to read-only tools
- Reaches far more apps than Muse's list — over 4,000 through plugins, per OpenAI on 6 October 2026
Cons- Your first dot comes with ChatGPT Pro, which starts at $100/month (chatgpt.com/pricing, read 2026-10-06), or with Business Premium
- Rolling out "in eligible markets" only, so check your country before you plan around it
- A general agent: OpenAI's examples include drafting social posts, but nothing on its page covers SEO, AI-answer visibility or hosting a site
- Pricing:
- Included in ChatGPT Pro (from $100/mo) and Business Premium
- Best for:
- People who already pay for ChatGPT Pro and want one agent for everything
AgentCeres
A narrower job, labelled honestly: AgentCeres — the AI Growth Officer — is a managed AI marketing team, with SEO, GEO, social, ads, PR and community specialists, that also builds and hosts your website.
- Growth Officer
- Research agent
- SEO agent
- Social media agent
- Ads agent
- Influencer agent
- Launch & PR agent
- GEO agent
- Community agent
- Customer feedback agent
Pros- Builds, publishes and hosts your pages, then reports their visits and form submissions back to you — Muse's page says it can spin up a product page, but describes no hosting of its own
- Search work Muse does not describe: an SEO agent, and a GEO agent that checks whether AI answer engines cite you
- Self-serve signup in eight languages, not limited to the US and Canada, with a 14-day trial and no card
Cons- Not a personal assistant: it will not sort your inbox, manage your books or shop for you
- No phone answering and no local-directory ads — Pie below covers those
- Costs money where Muse is free: a small Free plan, then $39–$99/mo flat
- Pricing:
- Free plan; $39–$99/mo flat
- Best for:
- Founders and small businesses whose gap is growth and a website, not admin
Pie
An AI marketing platform for local businesses — salons, studios, multi-location chains — with three products: AI Search, Growth on hyperlocal channels, and a 24/7 AI Front Desk.
Pros- Its AI Front Desk is built to answer calls around the clock and take reservations in your voice and tone — though Pie's own page still lists it as "Coming Soon", with a waitlist (read 2026-10-07)
- AI Search works on getting a local business named when people ask ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini
- "No contract. First month free. $360 on us." on its homepage (read 2026-10-06)
Cons- Starts at $59 per location per month after the free month, plus the ad budget it recommends (about $10 a day), per its own FAQ (read 2026-10-07)
- Built for shops with a front door; a business that sells online gets less from its phone and map products
- Does one job, local growth — it is not an assistant you can hand other work to
- Pricing:
- From $59/location/mo; first month free, no contract
- Best for:
- Local businesses whose customers call, book and walk in
Town
A personal AI assistant for inbox, calendar and meetings — morning briefings, inbox triage, drafts and scheduling, plus custom routines.
Pros- A real free tier: $0 forever with a weekly briefing and 30 assistant messages a month, no card (town.com/pricing, 2026-10-06)
- Starter at $15/month billed monthly adds a daily briefing, auto-triage and two custom routines
- Focused on the admin a busy owner drowns in, rather than trying to do everything
Cons- Pro is $49/month per user and Power $99/month, both billed annually; heavier use bills per credit past the allowance
- No ads, content or website work — it manages your day, not your marketing
- Its pricing page does not state which countries it serves
- Pricing:
- Free; paid plans from $15/mo
- Best for:
- Owners who want their inbox and calendar handled more than anything else
Side-by-side
| Dimension | ChatGPT dots | AgentCeres | Pie | Town |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | From $100/mo (ChatGPT Pro) | Free plan; $39/mo flat | From $59/location/mo; first month free | Free; $15/mo |
| Where it is available | "Eligible markets" | Self-serve signup, eight languages | Not stated on its homepage | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Answers your customers' phone calls | Not described | No | AI Front Desk — listed as Coming Soon | Not described |
| SEO, AI-answer visibility and a hosted website | Not described | Yes | AI Search for local businesses; no website | No |
What Muse does well. It is the first agent of this kind that a small business can start using for nothing, and Meta has put real thought into the risky parts: logins sit in a credential store the agent cannot see, a one-time card number is generated at checkout so the merchant and the agent never see your real card, and Meta says your conversations are not shared with its ad systems. If most of your marketing already happens on Facebook and Instagram, connecting those accounts in one step is a genuine head start.
Where the gap usually is. In our own signups, about three in four people arrive wanting a website first. Muse's own page says it can spin up a new product page, and it connects to Lovable and Shopify; nothing there says it owns the address, watches who visits or answers the contact form the next morning. That standing work is the narrow job AgentCeres does — an SEO agent and a GEO agent working on a site it hosts and measures. For the same comparison against OpenAI's agent, see ChatGPT dots alternatives.
How we checked. Read on 6 October 2026: muse.ai/business, Meta's Newsroom post of 29 September 2026, introducing.muse.ai, Meta's Help Center article "About Muse subscriptions", openai.com/index/introducing-dots, chatgpt.com/pricing, getpie.com and town.com/pricing. Muse's paid plans are measured in "Muse tokens" per week (500 million on Power, 3 billion on Maximum), so how far each goes depends on what you ask of it. For marketing done by people instead, see agencies and freelancers.
What AgentCeres does for you
Three jobs your team takes off your plate, each one you can see working.

Builds and hosts your website
Describe your business and it builds the site, publishes it, and changes it whenever you ask.
See the AI website builder →FacebookMon 7:30 
The seeded sourdough is out of the oven. Come early, it goes fast.
LinkedInTue 12:00 
Feeding the team on Friday? We cater office breakfasts: pastries, coffee and fruit, delivered before the first meeting.
Plans and posts your social media
Posts and images about your business on one calendar. Each one waits for your approval, unless you turn on Auto mode.
See the AI social media manager →Runs your Google ads
It finds the searches your buyers make, writes the ads, and runs the campaign once you approve the plan.
See the AI ads manager →
Describe your business. Your team takes it from there.
Write a sentence about what you do, or paste your website. In a minute or two your AI growth team is set up and starts on its first piece of research. From then on it works on a schedule, briefs you every morning and brings you drafts to approve.
- 0:00You describe the businessA sentence, or your website address.
- A minute or twoYour team is set upA Growth Officer and every specialist, in your own workspace.
- Minutes laterFirst findings in your chatWhat it learned about your market, with sources.
- Next morning, 8:00Your first daily briefBy email: what moved, and what to do next.
FAQ
- How much does Muse by Meta cost?
- Muse is free with a usage limit that refreshes. Meta's Help Center, read on 6 October 2026, lists two paid plans: Power at $20/month with 500M Muse tokens per week, and Maximum at $100/month with 3B Muse tokens per week. Subscriptions renew monthly until cancelled, and Meta says Muse and its subscriptions are in limited testing.
- Can I use Muse outside the US and Canada?
- Not yet. Meta's small-business page says Muse is available to people in the US and Canada who are 18 and over, and that Meta is taking a measured approach to other markets with no timing to share. Outside those two countries, ChatGPT dots (in OpenAI's eligible markets) is the closest general agent; for marketing and a website specifically, AgentCeres signs up self-serve in eight languages. It never spends money you haven't approved. Inside a plan you approved it can pause, lower a budget or drop a keyword on its own; anything that would spend more or reach new people waits for your approval.
Try AgentCeres for Muse by Meta alternatives
14-day free trial. From $39/month. Cancel anytime.